1st Annual All-Star XC Squads Announced for Sports Week

Teams line up at the 2016 Warhawk Invitational on the campus of AUM.

MONTGOMERY -- All-star squads for the 2017 North-South boys' and girls' cross country competition have been selected. 
     A total of 40 outstanding rising seniors --10 on each team -- were chosen from nominations submitted by high school coaches from across the state to participate at the 21st annual AHSAA Summer Conference and AHSADCA All-Star Games competition in Montgomery July 17-21, according to an announcement by Alvin Briggs, Director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).
     The North-South Cross Country race, making its debut on Wednesday morning, July 19, is the newest all-star completion added to the annual All-Star Sports Week competition will be the first ever conducted by the AHSADCA. The teams are comprised of 10 runners each. The girls' teams will run at 7:30 a.m., at the course at Auburn University-Montgomery. The boys will follow at 8 a.m.
     The AHSADCA All-Star Games also include in-state games in soccer, baseball, softball, boys' and girls' basketball, volleyball and football. The 58th North-South All-Star football game will close out the all-star competition Thursday night, July 20, at Cramton Bowl.
      The AHSAA Summer Conference is a week-long event that includes sports-specific clinics and special sessions for coaches, principals, athletic directors, cheerleading coaches and officials. Also, an All-Sports Equipment Expo and other related activities are scheduled throughout the week. 
     Among the week's highlights will be the Sportsmanship Luncheon honoring all schools that have not had an ejection or fine during the 2016-17 school year and the Championship Coaches Awards Banquet that includes the naming of the 2017 Making A Difference Award Recipients , Coaches of the Year and the AHSADCA Athletic Director of the Year. Both banquets will be Friday, July 21.
      Concluding the week will be the annual Officials Awards luncheon set for Saturday, July 22.
      Coaches for the South cross country teams are Joe Swagart of Bayside Academy (girls) and Dan Norton of Auburn (boys). Ron Peters of Smiths Station will be the administrative coach. North coaches are Lea Bryant of Huntsville (girls) and Lars Porter of Homewood (boys). Mountain Brook's Michael McGovern will serve as North administrative coach for both teams.
       The rosters:


Player School
Rebecca Billman American Christian
Yesenia Hernandez Guntersville
Caroline Saul Hoover
Sydney Steely Hoover
Rachel Jones Huntsville
Lindsey Granier John Carroll
Lori Holmberg Lexington
Kourtney Shuler Ohatchee
Hannah Tarwater Whitesburg Christian
Phoebe Moon Wilson
Lea Bryant Huntsville
Michael McGovern Mountain Brook, Adm.


Player School
Madelyn Watkins Baker
Mary Branyon Bayside Academy
Audrey Clark Fairhope
Lexie WIlliams Fairhope
Grace Phung LAMP
Grace Jenson McGill-Toolen
Savannah Karl Opelika
Sailor Miles Saint James
Kaelyn Horn St. Luke's Episcopal
Mackenzie LeGrand Trinity Presbyterian
Joe Swagart Bayside Academy
Ron Peters Smiths Station, Adm.


Player School
Taylor Ray American Christian
Daniel Tully Ashville
Zach Howard Briarwood Christian
Hamza Abusammour Haleyville
Patrick Vaughn Helena
John McCrackin Hoover
Cameron Cox Huntsville
Charles Slaughter Mountain Brook
Matthew Estopinal Randolph
Andrew Sweeney Saint Bernard
Lars Porter Homewood
Michael McGovern Mountain Brook, Adm.


Player School
Andrew Mingus Auburn
Cody Becker Baker
Won Heo LAMP
Will Franklin Montgomery Academy
Nathanial Erwin Pleasant Home
Jake Maddox Saint James
Tyler Harman Smiths Station
Conner Moore Spanish Fort
Dawson Oliver Trinity Presbyterian
Wells Rutland Trinity Presbyterian
Dan Norton Auburn
Ron Peters Smiths Station, Adm.